Nerdlution Nervana

Ok, so I was excited to join the Nedlution…but, being a procrastinator, I jumped in without a specific goal (“I’ll find the perfect goal later!”).  At the onset, I was simply committed to not doing school work for 30 minutes an evening.  I had an open-ended, boundless beginning, with no requirements (a gift in itself).  Each day, my thirty minutes of “freedom and flexibility” afforded me a new void that my usual work-all-evening routine hadn’t offered me before. The first night, I floundered a bit, much like a student without something particular to do – feeling guilty that there were papers to grades, response journals to review, blogs to approve. But now, as the 30 minutes beckon each evening, I’ve been able to hone in on something I enjoy or want to do (no To-Do lists allowed!). Little by little, my Nerdlution Nervana has begun to take shape, and I anticipate this daily respite. Each evening I give myself permission to try something slightly different – and I find this open-ended time to be so liberating and refreshing. Be it reading, writing, blogging, visiting with my husband, exercising, baking, or decorating the Christmas tree, I have a mandated 30 minute “recess” from school work every night. Sigh – what a gift to a frenzied educator! Simply Put, thank you Nerdlution!

About Jane Roe Cooper

I am a lower school educator navigating the complexities discovered while guiding the development of young minds.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

